Many people who deal in Cryptocurrency might be aware of Coinbase. Although Coinbase is very useful to cryptocurrency users sometimes people wish to delete their account.
A very common reason why people wish to delete their Coinbase account is that they wish to try other wallets available to store their balance maybe they want to move to a better alternative availability or any other reason maybe they just don’t want to use Coinbase anymore.
Whatever the reason is the main concern for people is to know how to delete their Coinbase account.
If you want to delete your Coinbase account people must keep in mind one thing that it is a permanent action once you delete your account there is no turning back. That is why deleting a Coinbase account is not recommended.
People who wish to delete their account must know a very important thing that is the difference between a Coinbase account and a Coinbase pro account. Firstly all let me be clear both of them are different accounts created for different purposes.
Coinbase.com account is just to store your cryptocurrency balance basically it provides a wallet to store your balance while Coinbase pro account involves more of your personal information and setting options.
While Coinbase accounts are mostly interested in retail customers and try to make their buying and selling experience easier while on the other hand Coinbase pro account targets advance customers more and try to improve their buying and selling experience.
The most important thing to know about both these accounts is that if you decide to delete your Coinbase account then your Coinbase Pro account will be deleted automatically.
So, if you make a decision to delete your Coinbase account think it twice because once you have deleted it permanently you can not access it any longer.
Steps To Delete Your Coinbase Account
To delete your account follow the steps mentioned below:
- Run your web browser and log in to your Coinbase account by providing your information.
- Now go to the profile option on the top right corner of the screen.
- A drop-down list will appear in front of you from that list select the “Settings” option.
- After that look for the “Activity” option on your screen and click on it.
- All your activities funds you received and transferred will appear on your screen. Scroll down to the bottom while reading all the information which appears on your screen.
- At the bottom of your page, you will see an option “Close Account”. Now before proceeding further make sure there are no funds left in your Coinbase wallet.
- Now click on the “Close Account” option immediately a warning message will appear in front of you confirming from you if you want to delete your account or not.
Now, if you are 100% sure that you want to delete your account mention your ID password in the respective text field and click on the “Close Account”.
- After that, a screen showing all your balances in your account will be displayed on your screen. There you can see whether there is any balance in your wallet or not and if there is no balance in your wallet a complete check button will appear aligned to your balance.
- Here you will be asked about some of your personal information also just because of legal obligations and privacy issues or fraud prevention.
- Now click on the “Close My Account” option
Now the procedure is complete and once you click on “Close My Account” you will be automatically logged out of your account. And a confirmation email stating that your Coinbase account is deleted will be sent to your registered email.
Can I Permanently Delete Coinbase Account?
Although Coinbase does not advise you to delete your account permanently and for that matter it tries to hide these deleting options so as to maintain their customers.
Coinbase will never want its customer to leave its website and try other alternatives.
But Yes, you can permanently delete your Coinbase account by following the steps mentioned below.
But for deleting your account you have to make sure that there is no balance left in your account. If you have your funds in your account you need to withdraw them before you start the procedure to delete your account.
If there are funds or any assets left in your account Coinbase will not let you delete your account and the procedure will be failed.
So, make sure before you start your deleting your account process your wallet must be empty to withdraw them or you can transfer them to any other wallet.